Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.69

Buy Now for £19.69

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

As an amateur PI with a bent moral compass, Ash McKenna is good at finding people - but not at staying out of trouble. Between his own violent tendencies, the shadow cast by his father's death, and a self-destructive revenge quest, he made a mess of his life in NYC. Figuring it was time for a change of scenery Ash relocated to Portland, taking a job as a bouncer in a vegan strip club. And he hasn't had to hit anyone in six months.

So when one of the club's dancers asks Ash for help finding her daughter, he declines, content to keep the darkness in his past. But soon Ash is held at gunpoint by a man in a chicken mask, and told to keep away from the girls. Unfortunately Ash isn't good at following directions either.

As Ash navigates an unfamiliar city, he finds himself embroiled in a labyrinthine plot involving a ruthless drug cartel and a scandal that could reach one of the most powerful men in Portland. Ash is dead set on finding the missing girl, but realizes that in order to deliver her safely he may have to cross the one line he promised himself he never would.

©2016 Rob Hart (P)2017 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved

What listeners say about City of Rose

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Taylor
  • Taylor
  • 22-04-19

Great pacing and storytelling

The second Ash McKenna book moved quickly and kept me on my toes the entire time. Hart is an excellent storyteller. The pacing was fast, but not too fast. The elements of character and setting balanced the action nicely. (The description of Portland and Portland drivers cracked me up - especially as I was driving IN PORTLAND while it was playing.)

The twists were unexpected but believable. I spent extra minutes in my driveway nearly every day that I was listening to this book because I wanted to know what was going to happen! The last chapter of the book I listened to while doing my weekly grocery shopping because I just couldn't wait until the next morning's commute to find out what happened! I downloaded the next book in the series, and I can hardly wait until 5PM to start listening on the way home.

I picked up the first book because the author is a nice person. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book, so I picked up the next one because I genuinely enjoyed the writing. I'm picking up the third book after this, and I can't wait to start it! I don't have a lot of time to read, so I have to be pretty damn sure a book will be good before I waste any time on it. Every cent and second spent on Hart's books has been VERY WELL SPENT.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NeverKnelt
  • NeverKnelt
  • 20-11-17

Top Tier Series

For fans of Bosch, Hap & Leonard etc... this book/series is a winner. This is a dude book for dudes & you can tell the streets, fighting, drugs & gangs are not foreign to the author. To take a quote from this book its not a "story by a nerd for nerds that have never been in a fist fight" if you have some real life experience this is the series for you.

- Danny