Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The first novel in the enthralling Follet Valley Series, by TV/radio regular Ian Moore.

Richard is a middle-aged Englishman who runs a B&B in the fictional Val de Follet in the Loire Valley. Nothing ever happens to Richard, and really that’s the way he likes it. One day, however, one of his older guests disappears, leaving behind a bloody handprint on the wallpaper. Another guest, the exotic Valérie, persuades a reluctant Richard to join her in investigating the disappearance. Richard remains a dazed passenger in the case until things become really serious and someone murders Ava Gardner, one of his beloved hen...and you don’t mess with a fellow’s hens!

Unpausable mystery set in rural France, by TV/radio regular and best-selling author Ian Moore - perfect for fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club, Julia Chapman, or M.C. Beaton. Everyone is wanting mort!

©2021 Ian Moore (P)2021 Duckworth Books Ltd

Critic reviews

"A very funny page-turner. Fantastique!" (Adam Kay, comedian and author of This Is Going to Hurt

"A writer of immense wit and charm." (Paul Sinha, ITV's The Chase)

More from the same

What listeners say about Death and Croissants

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It’s alright I suppose.

For me this is one of those books that I wish I could un-read … all those hours! Still it’s pleasant enough. I think if you like The Thursday Murder Club then you’ll like this. And the author / reader does a great ‘glamorous French female’ accent.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed this book in the end

I found this book a little difficult to get into. I think the author should consider getting someone else to narrate it which would have helped.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another super read!

Really enjoyed reading another book by Ian Moore. Light hearted and amusing. Looking forward to more!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mr
  • 30-10-21

A belter of a story really enjoyed it

Loved the book and audible book great characters and story brilliantly written and well worth reading and listening to the audible book read by the author. Can’t wait for the next instalment.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved this Gem

Throughly enjoyed this book. Great characters, entertaining and very funny. If you like death in paradise books you’ll love this, as it does remind me of them in a way. I look forward to the next one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable and easy

I listened to this book whilst painting my flat. It was perfect, didn’t require too much attention, moved along briskly with humour and intrigue. The film references were amusing too.

Not an Agatha Christie but enjoyable nonetheless.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So entertaining 😁

I really enjoyed this. Great turn of phrase, good self-effacing humour, over-the-top characters. Awwwww, and the hens!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy going listen but little substance

An ok story that moves at a good pace. Quite predictable in places, although the main character is a bit slow to catch on to the obvious. The biggest irritation is the performance, why has it suddenly become the trend for authors to read their own work, rather than an actor who has trained to deliver text? Not the most engaging voice and some of the attempted accents are appalling, like listening to your dad try to do his shoddy party piece!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great japes and a fabulous light-hearted read

Really enjoyed the book. Some good twists and turns and some good laugh out loud moments. Ian reads it well but, if I may be so bold, I think it would have been even better with an experienced character actor. Absolutely acknowledge that it’s personal taste and subjective but that’s my opinion. Good book. Recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

entertaining french murder mystery

lovely characters, complicated story, quite long. enjoyable. funny, loved Richard's englishness, filled a long journey very pleasantly

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rani
  • Rani
  • 17-07-21

Ridiculous and enormously fun

Wild, convoluted and imaginative twist on a cozy mystery. Ian Moore was an excellent narrator for his book - the right tone, dry humor and male confusion.

Very very entertaining.

I am hoping for more from Ian in future.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CK
  • CK
  • 30-10-21

Laborious humor

Juts OK. I liked the Thursday murder club much more. This is not as tightly written and I grew bored of the tedious nature abs the reluctant sort of self-pity of the main character.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for saxner
  • saxner
  • 24-08-21

Hilarious

Loved this book. Laughed out loud several times. The author reads it, he's a radio comic. English humor at its best

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marina
  • Marina
  • 29-06-22

Great Book - please make another recording

A wonderful book full of great humor. I really enjoyed it. Read by the author. The author did their best, but a recording by a professional actor would elevate this book so much more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brenda Gardner
  • Brenda Gardner
  • 28-05-22

Hilarious

A charming mystery revolving around an English expat running a B & B in France with brilliant English sarcastic humor woven throughout.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Allison G.
  • Allison G.
  • 24-05-22

Engaging and entertaining

I absolutely loved it. The performance by the author made it that much better. I adored the characters and the hilarious dialogue. The story is all set up for a sequel and I hope that one is forthcoming..

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for brick
  • brick
  • 06-05-22

Terrible

I’ve read worse books, but not many. I couldn’t care about any of the characters. Plot wasn’t believable, Richard’s involvement wasn’t believable and his marriage side story was pointless. Waste of time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catherine
  • Catherine
  • 30-12-21

Deeply witty and very funny

Very much fun. Fast paced well conceived. Perfectly read by the author (which I sometimes deplore). I listened nearly straight through.