Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

“Jason Kasper’s American Mercenary series boils with bold action, exotic locales, and spellbinding intrigue.” (Mark Greaney, number one New York Times best-selling author of the Gray Man series)

From former Special Forces officer Jason Kasper comes a gripping set of thrillers for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor. Now an international best seller.

Book 1: Greatest Enemy 

Army Ranger David Rivers enters the covert underworld of ex-special operators for hire. His new team serves a faceless mastermind known as the Handler. But as the stakes continue to rise, he learns that his new employer is more ruthless than anyone he's faced in combat - and he just might be David's greatest enemy. 

Book 2: Offer of Revenge 

David Rivers wants vengeance. But to get it, he must join the secretive organization that slaughtered the only family he had. Sent into battle against a savage force of enemy fighters in Somalia, David realizes that someone inside the organization seems to know his true purpose...and has been waiting for him all along. 

Book 3: Dark Redemption 

The path to revenge leads David Rivers into a labyrinth of twisted loyalties in the violent slums of Rio de Janeiro - where he learns the betrayal of his team was just the beginning. And nothing in David’s murderous past can prepare him for what happens when he finally meets his greatest enemy face-to-face.

Perfect for fans of Mark Greaney, and Brad Taylor.    

©2016-2018 Jason Kasper (P)2018 Jason Kasper

What listeners say about American Mercenary

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dennis H. Ramirez
  • Dennis H. Ramirez
  • 03-05-19

tough start

I had a little trouble with book one it was just so dark but as I finished the book two and three I was very impressed with a storyline well done

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trish R.
  • Trish R.
  • 19-07-20

If you like books that talk about suicide...

At Chapter 16 I'm done.

I can't read this. First of all he killed a guy and as soon as he was through he was going to kill himself then some men offered him a job as an assassin so I thought the suicide was all over with. Which it wasn't. He still thought of suicide and his teammates called him Suicide instead of his name.

In my opinion it could have been a better series. I can't stand all the talk and thoughts of suicide. Sorry, Mr. Kasper.

I doubt there was any sex, I don't know, but the F-bomb was used 194 times.

As for the narration: Adam Gold is a fabulous but even his reading couldn't help this totally depressing book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PR
  • PR
  • 29-11-19

Verbose and boring!

Bought this yesterday. After 1 hour deleted it from my player (even though I was stuck in a traffic jam)! VERY wordy, so little story happening, boring. No detail or any plot movement I'm used to in spy/paramilitary action novels (ala Tom Clancy or Steven Konkoly).

Save your money.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scott, Cayce SC
  • Scott, Cayce SC
  • 19-11-19

just dont try this one, really bad, suckey even i

truly horrible dont know what led me to this book but somebody marketed a load of crap

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tom
  • Tom
  • 03-06-19

Hard to suspend disbelief.

I listened through all three books and found the main character hard to believe. I kept waiting for his suicidal self-doubt and self-hatred and constant introspection to evolve into something more believable, or at least something more relateable. In addition, he is infused with the unlikely counterpoint, of an unflinching self-confidence. Although not consistent with his negative character aspects, I have to say that element of his character was enjoyable and I admit to being engaged enough to want to know what would happen next and how he'd work through his challenges. As the stories move forward however, he really does not have a good reason to be so self-confident. He doesn't survive because he's the best, but because everyone shooting at him is apparently a terrible shot. In addition, if it weren't for lucky breaks coming out of nowhere in his action scenes he'd have been dead dozens of times over. I don't have any desire to get any more of the books in this series, and from the comments in reviews about the 4th book, I expect the flaws in the first three will not only be continued but made even more annoying than ever.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Madelyne L Blackwelder
  • Madelyne L Blackwelder
  • 28-06-22

Loved the series!

Excellent series, Books 1-3. Action, sex, total adventure! What more could you ask for? The hero who gets dirty, gets the girls and is betrayed, kicks some serious butt and gets some serious butt kicking himself.
Adam Gold did a great job as narrator!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kenneth Hines
  • Kenneth Hines
  • 11-06-22

Good mercenaries story

Good story play.. A mix of of new adventures and activities activities and new intrigues at each jog of the storyline with an overall Major diabolical figure who Still remains somewhat of A mystery.

Plenty of Action sequences.Accurate displays of knowledge with regards to weaponry and weaponry and Activity such as skydiving.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 25-05-22

Addicting!

Loved these books and have read all of the American Mercenary series. Currently about to start the last Shadow Strike series books. Have really enjoyed all of them!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael Eudy
  • Michael Eudy
  • 26-04-22

Zero morality

The author accidentally writes the character as a villain. The character has zero clue of who he is killing and or why with no personal gain outside of his sociopathic need to kill people so he does not kill himself. Even Hannibal Lecter has more morals and relatability than the main character of the story. I was really looking forward to a action-thriller ex-military type story that doesn't involve a Navy SEAL. The search goes on I guess.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K  Hley
  • K Hley
  • 31-12-21

Not predictable!

Book 1 a bit too dark, but enjoyed 2 & 3. Addicted to thriller audiobooks, myself, & can usually see what’s coming. Not so with this set! Looking forward to checking out the rest of the series . .