Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.99

Buy Now for £22.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

An absolutely gripping Templar conspiracy thriller, perfect for fans of Mario Reading, Dan Brown and Scott Mariani.

An ancient sect. A modern mystery. The most dangerous secret ever unearthed.

Antiquarian bookseller Robin Jessop has acquired a strange medieval volume. What appears to be a book is a cleverly disguised safe, in which she finds a single rolled parchment, written in code. For encryption expert David Mallory, the text is impenetrable. Until an invaluable clue opens the door to a conspiracy, stretching back seven centuries. Now Jessop and Mallory find themselves on a desperate hunt that could change history, topple an empire and bury them both alive. Because soon they’re not only the hunters. They’re also the hunted.

©2016 James Becker (P)2016 W. F. Howes

Critic reviews

“A thrilling historical mystery full of ingenious clues and unexpected twists.” (Good Book Guide

What listeners say about The Lost Treasure of the Templars

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

What!

No this is a cross between a history teacher and a computer nerd wet dream

If you like school with a bit of Kung fu it’s for you

Not me

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

On a level with the best of scooby doo

Daft and implausible. Narrator was OK but he had a thankless task reading this stuff

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

My own fault

Thought it was regarding factual, history based material,. Was a fiction novel. My own fault

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

This book reminded me of a Dan Brown novel but lacked his realism and excitement. The history of the Templars interests me but this book didn’t with it’s totally unbelievable characters and scenarios.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

bit of a stretch

the relatability of these characters are not great. every new chapter it seems they are an expert in something the James Becker's other series the characters feel limited and its experts in certain fields. I don't think there is one area these to don't have a diploma in

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meep
  • Meep
  • 06-05-21

Disappointing

I bought this because of all the good reviews, and I was sadly disappointed by it. I liked the archaeological mystery very much, but I hated having to wade through oceans of stupid to get to it. I could have done without the bad guys all together, they have to be the stupidest crew of villians I've run across in ages and there was absolutely no point to them except to drag the length of the story out. More words, more dollars, I guess. Why were they so intent on killing the main characters? What was the point? Why didn't they just grab the artifact and be on their way? Bleah. I realize evil is accurately described as stupid, repetative and pointlessly violent, but I'm not looking for acurate villians in my fiction, I read the news for that.
Plus, there were odd dashes of really graphic violence of a truely disgusting variety sprinkled through, even though this is supposed (I thought) to be a historical mystery. TRIGGER WARNING; if rape disturbes you, particularly child rape/torture and/or gang rape, you might want to avoid this. The situation with the child in particular is something I really did not need in my head and it added NOTHING to the story.
I was interested enough in the actual Templar mystery, which is cool and interesting and has a lot of historical detail, that I bought the second book, but I have now returned it after just barely starting because it's just as stupid as the first one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Margaret Lampe
  • Margaret Lampe
  • 25-01-21

Plot over character

The plot and history of the Templars were interesting but there was little character development.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. SGM
  • Ms. SGM
  • 25-03-22

Slow start but then WOW

The story gets off to a slow start but once Robyn and David meet its a nonstop race to the finish line. Moving on to the next leg of the journey.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for michael leone
  • michael leone
  • 02-02-22

Absurd

I tried to enjoy this book. I love stories about regular people getting caught up in mysteries. But...

It started off well enough, And I was even ready to excuse the preposterous notion that a middle aged female antiquarian book seller could break the wrist, separate the shoulder and disable two large professional hit men, But while they were immobilizing said hit men her partner says "the law always favors the perpetrators." (The fuck you say??) This being the reason they didn't immediately call the police. And then he makes a comment about the fact that, by taking the pistol off of their would be assassins, they would do time for possessing that gun because Britain is not a free place where everyone apparently can't be armed to the teeth like in the freedom loving USA where you can be shot for looking at someone the wrong way, etc. Well, that was the implication anyway.

So then, after escaping from their would be killers the two decide to simply get a hotel and try and solve the mystery rather than doing the completely rational thing of heading to a police station and explaining that people are trying to kill them. Even IF (and that's a big if) there is some misunderstanding with the cops about the whole convoluted nature of the events there would be no safer place to try and figure out what the hell is going on than comfortably ensconced in a police station.

I see what he was going for. The author that is. He wants a Hitchcockian thriller where there is no safe place, on the run, etc., Something in the mode of DaVinci Code and so on. But the clown couldn't even be bothered to come up with a reasonable premise for why they SHOULD be on the run. Just something about the coddled nature of killers and the oppressed victims of violent crime in the British judicial system or some such bullshit. Beyond absurd. Even if there is some urban legend about some ridiculous event like the character Mallory suggests, it's really a class thing. The middle class book seller and independently wealthy IT tech would have nothing to worry about. If anyone thinks differently they need to get their heads out of their asses and OFF of the internet.

Save your money and time. Suspension of disbelief is one thing. Suspension of logic and humanity are another.

PS. The narrator needs to learn the difference between an Italian and a Russian accent. Italians use both definite and indefinite articles, Russians do not. It was not convincing and just one more reason this sucked.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for debbie
  • debbie
  • 22-04-21

Kept me glued on

I listened to this book in one night. Couldn't stop, lots of action. If you like the Templars you will like this book. Narrator versatile.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carole
  • Carole
  • 27-03-21

loved it

I could not stop listening great narrative interesting story that moved quick and kept me interested

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark
  • Mark
  • 10-02-21

Too much detail

The underlying story is ok, but the book is overloaded with so many detailed descriptions of minor and inconsequential events that it makes it an unenjoyable listen. Also character reactions to the situations they were in where hard to believe. I won’t be bothering with the next books in the series.