Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £9.99

Buy Now for £9.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

*THE TOP-TEN BESTSELLER*

From the New York Times bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns and An Enchantment of Ravens comes a thrilling new YA fantasy about a teen girl with mythic abilities. This is the perfect listen for fans of Cassandra Clare, Sarah J. Maas's A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES series, and Holly Black!

Artemisia is training to be a Gray Sister, tasked with cleansing the bodies of the dead so that their souls can pass on; otherwise, they will rise as spirits with a hunger for the living.

When her convent is attacked, Artemisia defends it by awakening a revenant. Wielding this ancient spirit’s extraordinary power almost consumes her–but only a vespertine, a priestess trained to wield a revenant, has any chance of saving Loraille.

As Artemisia unravels a sinister mystery of saints, secrets and dark magic, her bond with the revenant grows. And when a hidden evil begins to surface, she discovers that facing this enemy may require her to betray everything she’s been taught to believe–if the revenant doesn’t betray her first.

©2021 Margaret Rogerson (P)2021 Simon & Schuster Audio

What listeners say about Vespertine

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Had potential but didn’t deliver.

This plot had some potential. Girl saves the world and for once didn’t need a man to do it. That’s the only real plus point to it all. It was hard to understand what was going on at the start as the whole idea of saints, relics and revenants wasn’t explained very well and there were points in the book where I really did think “what is going on now”.
The plot really stumbled along at a snails pace and the ending was massively anticlimactic leaving me wondering what the entire point of the novel had been.
The narration is robotic and monotone and didn’t draw you in to the story at all. American narrators can be very monotone in general but this sounded like a bot was reading the story and in places it was like the narrator’s voice had been sped up or edited in some way.