Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

First in a five-book series for fans of Nevermoor, The Worst Witch and The Dark Is Rising.

Cassie Morgan has run away. After seven years spent waiting for her mother to return, she flees her dreary boarding school and sets out to find her. But the world outside her school is full of hidden magic and children have been going missing.

With the help of a talking cat and a flying broom, Cassie escapes to the enchanted village of Hedgely. There she will begin her training in the practical skills of witchcraft with the Hedgewitch, who watches over the Hedge, the vast forest that marks the border between England and Faerie.

©2022 Skye McKenna (P)2022 Welbeck Publishing Group

Critic reviews

"Magical in every sense of the word." (Eoin Colfer)

"There are only two sorts of fantasy story: the ones that feel fake and the ones that feel real. It's hard to explain the difference but you know the real ones when you read them and Hedgewitch is one of them." (Philip Reeve)

What listeners say about Hedgewitch

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Audiobook Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!🤗

Although it ends on a cliff hanger, it is an amazing book to listen to at night or when you are just dealing bored. Personally, to many cliffhangers is just the right amount, and this book has (in my opinion) lots of cliffhangers. Buy this book with credits or money, I don't mind but buy it. You will regret it if you don't listen to it. I've said once and I'll say it again:
Best Audiobook Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!🤗

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A stunning middle grade debut

A must for fans of Nevermoor, Amari and the Night Brothers and the Worst witch. Perfect for young middle grade readers+ to be read to. I'm 38 and absolutely loved the story. I'm now eagerly awaiting the next one in the series to come out.