Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £25.99

Buy Now for £25.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

Calming, thought-provoking, poetic and honest, Notes from Walnut Tree Farm is a collection of writing and musing by documentary-maker, environmentalist and author of Waterlog Roger Deakin.

For the last six years of his life, Roger Deakin kept notebooks. In them, he wrote his daily thoughts, impressions, feelings and observations about and around his Suffolk home, Walnut Tree Farm. Collected here are the very best of these writings, capturing his extraordinary, restless curiosity about nature as well as his impressions of our changing world. 

Perfect for fans of Robert Macfarlane and Colin Tudge, this is a book that fills listeners with a desire to explore the world around them.

©2020 Roger Deakin (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"Gentle, straight, honest, inquisitive, funny, melancholic." (Spectator)

"A secular saint." (The Times)

"Marvellous, wonderful, lovely, remarkable...to be read and reread and treasured." (Elizabeth Jane Howard, Daily Mail

What listeners say about Notes from Walnut Tree Farm

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

surprisingly thorough portrait

I loved this book it felt really nice to be rooted in walnut tree farm and have everything go on around this location having read deakins other 2 books I saved this for last as I didn't think it would say much more but it is probably my favourite as it gives a full picture of his life on the farm and little anecdotes that give a portrait of his personality

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A truly amazing story

A wonderful book of notes . Interesting. Thought provoking and beautifully read So glad I have this on audible.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

A great book wonderfully narrated. Gave me great joy listening to it. A year in nature. Who could ask for more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

lovely to listen to

good narrator in Rogers place. love he mentions Ronald blyth another amazing Suffolk writer. easy on the ear and informative

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

superb

this is superb writing and narration . thoroughly enjoyed listening to words of Roger Deakin.