Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Berlin, 1939: The inspiring true story of Libby Schulze-Boysen, a German girl who refused to back down to the Nazis. In the face of evil, she vowed to live by the truth - or die by it.

“Be brave. Don’t run. Fight.” With her eyes tightly shut, tears rolling from under her dark lashes, she felt his lips gently touch her burning cheek. The train on the platform whistled, and he disappeared into the steam.

Nineteen-year-old Libby moves to Berlin to escape her suffocating family - but instead of offering freedom, the city is under siege by the Nazis. Jewish books are burned, storefronts smashed and every day innocent people vanish into thin air. Libby cannot - will not - turn a blind eye.

When Libby meets Harro, she knows there’s more to him than his dazzling smile and cornflower-blue eyes. The whip marks on his back, scars from the SS, tell his true story: He is a resistance fighter.

Libby and Harro fall madly in love, devoted to each other and to tearing down Hitler’s regime. Knowing they can make the greatest difference from the inside, Harro works for the Air Ministry, infiltrating government secrets.

Together, they smuggle classified documents and hold clandestine meetings in the middle of the night, with blackout curtains and a single candle burning. Under the cover of darkness, they distribute leaflets, exposing the Nazis’ hideous lies.

In the frostbitten winter of 1942, Libby is certain the Gestapo is stalking them - their every move watched, their phone calls recorded. In the end, they must decide what is more important: to be free or to be brave? To survive or to stand up for the truth?

Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Alice Network, and The Lilac Girls will be utterly gripped. Based on a true story, this beautiful novel shows that even when our freedom is stolen, we still have a choice.

©2021 Ellie Midwood (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Girl on the Platform

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Faith Hope Loyalty Spirit

WOW what a fantastic story beautifully brought to life by Alison Campbell’s voice. Looking forward to now listening to the other books by Ellie Midwood.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

slow

Thought book would have been good, it was very slow. I wouldn't tell anyone to
listen to it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 29-10-21

A moving and powerful story

What an inspiring and moving story! And educational as well. Not too many people are familiar with the Red Orchestra and this true story sheds light on those brave German resistant fighters' lives. Knowing full well what awaited them if they went against the regime, they still risked everything in the name of freedom. What is particularly worth of admiration is that both Libertas and Harro came from well-to-do families and could have lived just fine under the Nazi regime, but they chose to fight for what is right instead and for that, they have my utmost admiration. This is the story that needed to be told. Thank you, heroes!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deborah DeRusha
  • Deborah DeRusha
  • 26-10-21

Human spirit

It amazes me how our spirit can go through so much yet love for some one and for humanity gives us the strength to go on

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tamra M
  • Tamra M
  • 26-10-21

Couldn't Make It

I really struggled to finish this book. I couldn't take how the 2 main characters just kept repeating throughout how much they love each other just about every paragraph. Not really much going on...just dragged on and on and honestly I fell asleep every time. Disappointing. Narrator was good. Not her fault!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 19-10-21

What a brave woman

A little hard to get into. It just wasn’t interesting to me at first. Lots of social snobbery and class and race consciousness with lots of parties . Once the story picked and their purpose was told it was so good , brave people fighting the nazis.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 18-04-22

Good Story

I listen to many historical ww2 stories both fiction and non fiction. I had a hard time with this, because the narration was dramatically British for German characters. They never sounded like serious characters. I struggled listening to this for that reason. I really didn't appreciate the story until the end when it was disclosed it was based on a true story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Evelyn Schumacher
  • Evelyn Schumacher
  • 06-12-21

This story was a different approach

Starting from a view of youth and hope which we all have, this author brought us along on an amazing story of courage! The facts were still painful but the hope of good coming from it all kept me listening.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle Shouse
  • Michelle Shouse
  • 26-10-21

Boring

Boring and cheesy . Disappointed in story . Wasted a credit on this book . No substance at all .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura Maness
  • Laura Maness
  • 01-11-21

Very long but informative

The story seemed to go on for quite a long time before we got to the point.
Good not great. I appreciate knowing about the silent heroes of WWII and hearing their stories I just felt like this could have been condensed.
That being said the narrator was great and easy to listen to.