Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A missing girl. A child killer on the loose. Time is running out. 

When a toddler goes missing in the middle of a bustling Bradford park in broad daylight, Detective Daniel Ward is put on the case. It ought to be an open and shut investigation, but the hours tick by, and Millie Thompson is nowhere to be found. 

There’s only one conclusion DI Ward can come to: She was taken. 

When a known child-killer is spotted in the vicinity, Ward fears the worst. Has this infamous monster struck again, right under his nose? 

He has to catch up with the only lead he has before the infamous Hunters - merciless vigilante justice seekers who will seek retribution at any cost - catch up with his suspect first. 

If they do, DI Ward may never find Millie alive again. 

Set in the diverse, beautiful, and historical city of Bradford, The Past We Run From is the first in the DI Ward crime thriller series from debut crime novelist Meg Jolly. Perfect for fans of JD Kirk, David J. Gatward, and LJ Ross. Join DI Ward today on a twisting race to solve the case.

©2021 Meg Jolly (P)2022 Meg Jolly

Critic reviews

"I raced through this book in one sitting. A compelling and intriguing plot that kept me turning the pages with a cast of complex and diverse characters and a gritty Northern setting. Highly recommended." (Imogen Clark, number-one Amazon best-selling author)

What listeners say about The Past We Run From

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply brilliant!

A gritty crime thriller with an intriguing, fast paced plot and likeable characters.

The fantastic narration by Alan Turton only served to make listening more enjoyable and I was hooked from the start. ​

​​
I’m looking forward the rest of this ongoing series and have already started book two - “The Revenge We Seek.”

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story and engaging narrator

Thoroughly enjoyed this audible book. The author made an excellent job - I loved the Lancashire(?) accent! Hope he narrates the next DI Daniel Ward story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

The narration and storyline was first class . I’m having to admit I had to skip some parts as it was somewhat gruesome in parts .
It says much that I kept on with it ! Out of my normal comfort zone but I’m fair enough to realise that most would find it excellent.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

got a good twist

Good story line with a decent twist. Just enought describing as to much can be flowery. Good strong characters to.
First time I've read/listened to this author and will be doing so again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh so good

How great to find a nice straightforward detective story with no over the top plot lines or ridiculous behaviour by the main characters ?(maybe I read too much detective fiction but this seems to be a running theme at present). The narration is absolutely spot on, the characters likeable and well drawn, and the plot interesting . I look forward to the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Most enjoyable

I really liked this audiobook. The story was gripping, especially the ending, and I really warmed to the main character. I loved how the author, Meg Jolly, showed the camaraderie in the station, rather than everyone being at each other’s throats all the time as is so often the case in police stories. Alan Turton was a joy to listen to, although his rendition of female voices was a little bit comical! I’d recommend this book as a most enjoyable, easy listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

I really liked this, the storyline was excellent. looking forward to the second one . narrator was so easy to listen to

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nice Paced, Easy Listening

I enjoyed this book. I found it easy to listen to, not gruesome and would listen to another in the series. I liked the fact the team worked together well with no real ego clashes, as often occurs in these type of books.

It kept me listening & wanting to know if my theory was correct.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Bit Obvious

Not a bad book. Quite well written and a passable narrator. But there it ends. I guessed the end about two thirds through. I won't bother with any more by this author. To quote Douglas Adams. Mostly harmless...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Past We Run From

Loved it and can't wait to listen to the next one couldn't put it down