Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The laugh-out-loud best seller is back with the only book to buy this Mother's Day. Perfect for fans of Outnumbered and Carole Matthews, Fiona writes about life as it really is.

Forget about having it all. Sometimes you just want to leave it all behind.

Audrey is often seized by the urge to walk out of her house without looking back - but she can't possibly do that. She is a single parent. She is needed. She has a job, a home, responsibilities...and a slothful teenage son's pants to pick up. But no one likes being taken for granted - Audrey least of all - so the time has come for drastic action. And no one's going to stand in her way....

©2016 Fiona Gibson (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Warm, funny and poignant." (The Daily Mail)
"The voice of modern woman." ( Marie Claire)
"More than funny, it's true." (Elle)
"Frivolous fun." (Grazia)

What listeners say about The Woman Who Upped and Left

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    133
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved loved loved this book !!!!

This book about Audrey , an ordinary hard working woman enchanted me . So wonderfully written and the narrator who I’ve listened to before was simply amazing. I laughed and cried at all Audreys antics. Please please read this book. I am so sad it’s finished . Loved it

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A real gem

Audrey and her son Morgans relationship struck a cord with me as a mother of a 15 year old! Made me laugh out loud at times. Another Fiona Gibson triumph. Really enjoyed the narrator too.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LAUGH OUT LOUD FUNNY!!

Where does The Woman Who Upped and Left rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

One of the best!! So funny but also quite touching in parts. The antics of Audrey's son Morgan were just hysterical.
If you're feeling a bit fed up and need cheering up, I recommend that you read,or better still, listen to this book or any of Fiona Gibson's books. She is an excellent author and Emma Gregory, is a perfect choice of narrator for her books.

Any additional comments?

Listen and laugh!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I really did think it was a good hilarious book. I have just written a long review & it disappeared! So this is short.
Narrator was perfect. Good story, not predictable at all. Brilliant!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I couldn’t put it down. The narration was terrific and I enjoyed the accents. A lovely, amusing, light listen.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!!

Loved it, love the story, and Northern accent too, can't wait to listen to another story

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

So relatable, funny , interesting , sprinkled with serious situations and likeable characters. Narration excellent .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great and funny book

Good book. loved it. Would definitely recommend it. All the characters were intresting. A must read if you are a mum.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Real life

Exquisitely down to earth, sensitive to life experience.
A total delight. Narrated beautifully. Engrossing experience

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Laughed out loud loved this book

The Yorkshire humour is consistent through this story-her relationships & the hilarious situations which Audrey finds herself in are just so funny, the washing machine & her teenage son made me laugh out loud, the reality of her dinner lady & carer jobs & her chance to escape & find herself whilst finding out many other things along the way- I absolutely loved it.