Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.99

Buy Now for £22.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

It started by stealth. At first, no one could see what was happening. By the time the alarm was raised it was too late. Ireland had been seized: a financial assault consolidated by a military one. 

But as the island is overrun, it’s soon clear that the invaders did not anticipate the fierce resolve of of their Celtic opponents. Nor the determination of the country’s powerful allies to throw out the occupiers. 

While a strengthening Irish resistance mounts a fierce guerilla campaign to take their country back, the British bring to bear the full might of the Army, Royal Navy and RAF to liberate their friend and neighbour across the Irish Channel. 

Dark Rose takes a bold premise and weaves it into a breathtaking, action-packed military thriller. 

If you like Tom Clancy, Frederick Forsyth, Andy McNab, Chris Ryan, Larry Bond, Dale Brown or Damien Lewis then you’ll love Mike Lunnon-Wood. 

Perfect for fans of Red Storm Rising, Sniper One or Bravo Two Zero and movies like Red Dawn, Dunkirk and The Siege of Jadotville.

©1996 Mike Lunnon-Wood (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about Dark Rose

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    264
  • 4 Stars
    104
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    258
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    229
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story. Excellent narration.

When Audible takes the time to ensure the narrator has actually read the book in advance and checks that they can do credible accents, it can make an interesting premise into a memorable audio book experience. Lunnon Wood’s admirable premise coupled with his relentless research paired with Jameson’s fine narration is just such an experience. Well done to all involved.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Did It for Me

A little Aged but a very good way to spend 18 hours.
Just bought another by the same Author.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

chapters are a bit too long but overall a great book, good narration as well

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very interesting

A compelling story of the good and bad stuff that went on in the army especially interesting in Afghanistan and also about after coming back to the UK and leaving the army

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not his best

Too much background, not enough action with the fighters on either side of the story.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Listen

Long, but like all the Mike Lunnon Wood stories, an excellent listen. Thoroughly recommended. .

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a good listen

although it took a few minutes to get into the book, once the storylines had been built it then became extremely interesting.
This is the first book by this author, I will look at his other books based on this one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent read with credibility

really enjoyed the believable and we'll research story line, not problem in listening to more of his stuff

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dark rose

I enjoyed this audible book,good story line ,and it kept me entertained right to the end.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Proposterously good fun!

One of Mike's less realistic scenarios and very much of its time. For all that I found it strangely moving. He brings in all his favorite units and the Arabs are a bit one dimensional to be honest.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 10-03-21

the road from sovereignty to servitude and back

lunnon woods best. China is doing the same to usa but no one will intervene like in the book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kevin J. Hayes
  • Kevin J. Hayes
  • 30-01-20

Novel idea and we’ll told

Good writing, plausible plot, excellent character development, superb narration. Held me the entire way thru and would highly recommend the book. Will be looking for other works by this author (and narrator)