Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

They survived once. Can he save them this time? 

When Detective Kjeld Nygaard is called to the discovery of a body in the burnt-out shell of a house, his heart sinks. He never wanted to see this house again. The house of a notorious serial killer. The house where he rescued Louisa Karlsson from being murdered.

But when they discover the body is in fact Louisa, the mystery deepens. It can’t be the old serial killer. He’s dead.

Then another body is found, again killed in the exact place where Kjeld saved them from another murderer. Another survivor dead.

With the clock ticking, Kjeld and his partner, Detective Esme Jansson, are desperate to stop any more survivors from being murdered. But every clue they find leads to a dead end. Why is the killer picking off people Kjeld rescued? Could it be connected to another of his previous cases?

When Kjeld’s daughter is kidnapped - it’s a race against time to save her life. Can Kjeld stop the killer without paying the ultimate price, or will he be the last one alive?

A heart-stopping and gripping crime thriller that will keep you up all night! Perfect for fans of Helen Phifer, Lisa Regan and D. K. Hood. 

©2021 Karin Nordin (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"A riveting and gripping mystery that kept me turning pages into the late hours of the night.... This book is impossible to put down!" (Stephanie DeCarolis, USA Today best-selling author of The Guilty Husband)

"A high-stakes story which ratchets up the tension as it plunges the reader into a dark and suspenseful tale. Nygaard is becoming one of my favourite detectives. Recommended!" (Louise Mumford, best-selling author of Sleepless)

"This series left the starting blocks at a sprint, and it just gets better. Kjeld and Esme jump off the page fully formed...it feels like we've known them forever." (Paul Gitsham, author of the DCI Warren Jones series)

What listeners say about Last One Alive

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary C Bartel
  • Mary C Bartel
  • 06-03-22

Great Nordic Noir Series

The characters are really well developed and I hope to spend more time with them in future. The story got a bit over the top especially at the end, but I really didn't mind as the plot moved along really well and the character interaction was very engaging with depth outside the murder angle. These are people you really care about and that's difficult to find. I hope we hear more from Karin Addis! I enjoyed the first two books and read them both "cover to cover" in one go. Great narrator as well!