Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £25.99

Buy Now for £25.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin. 

From the author of the million copy best seller One Day in December, comes a brand-new love story.

One cottage. Two strangers.
Every great love story starts somewhere....

Cleo writes about love stories every day. She just isn't living one of her own.

When the editor of her dating column asks her to marry herself on a remote Irish island - a sensational piece to mark Cleo's 30th birthday - Cleo agrees. She's alone but not lonely, right? She can handle a solo adventure. 

Cleo arrives at her luxury cabin to find a tall, dark, stubborn American who insists it's actually his. Mack refuses to leave, and Cleo won't budge either. With a storm fast approaching, they reluctantly hunker down together. It's just one night, after all....

But what if one night on the island is just the beginning?

Following Cleo and Mack through heartbreak, self growth and friendship, One Night on the Island is an uplifting and immensely moving love story for fans of The Holiday, Lucy Diamond and Jojo Moyes.

©2022 Josie Silver (P)2022 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"The sweetest love story...you're going to LOVE it" (Marian Keyes, Grown Ups)

"You'll fall head over heels for this book." (Reese Witherspoon)   

"Fans of P.S. I Love You will adore this new romantic novel from Josie Silver." (Cosmopolitan

What listeners say about One Night on the Island

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb

Loved it, didn't want it to end. Narrators were fantastic great story. I really enjoyed it. More please!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing!

the narrator for Cleo was brilliant and the story was pure serotonin, wish that was me!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read

I love Josie silver books so eagerly awaited this one…loved it and didn’t want it to end. Brilliant❤️

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Didn't want to finish it!!

Really loved this book. I started of thinking, not sure if this is going to work for me,' marrying herself' bit to out there for me, but trust me it's such a well written story, I didn't want it to end. Recommended little bit of escapism ♥️.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A heavenly read!

One of the most beautifully written stories of life and love I’ve read in a very long time. Please write another book soon Josie, your stories really do transport me to another world!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Narrator and easy listening

Enjoyed this book, the narrator was really good, good storyline, easy light hearted listening, would recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh my goodness! Amazing

I dont think I have ever cried over a book, I did listening to this one! It was just so amazing had my hooked from the start. A bit weird the whole marrying yourself bit but I get it. It is more about being OK with yourself. Well worth a listen to. Narrator were good 👍

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Uplifting, emotional and wonderful

I loved every second of this book. The performances were excellent and at times my heart was in my mouth. Give it a go, you won't be sorry.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Nothing happens and try hard feminism

I loved Josie Silver’s first book and I was excited to listen to this one. However, my high hopes soon turned to inward cringes.
The story is over idealised with try hard feminism undertones.
The worst thing is the 9 and something hours of ‘plot’ could be summed up in about a 150 words. It feels like nothing happens throughout the story just the whining of the main character who decides to ‘marry herself’ and mopes after an American guy whose personality could be best described as a woman’s soul plonked into a supposedly hunky male body. I really really wanted to like it but just didn’t. It felt try hard.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely terrible!

I don't like to leave bad reviews of people's work, but I'm afraid I had to on this occasion. It's total nonsense that had me cringe laughing in places. Even the fantastic Eleanor Tomlinson sounded as though she was trying to inject humour in order to get through the lines.. How or why she read this drivel is beyond me!