Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of One of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus, read by Kim Mai Guest, MacLeod Andrews, Shannon McManus and Robbie Daymond. 

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller.

Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule.

Sports star Cooper only knows what he's doing in the baseball diamond.

Bad boy Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime.

Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life.

And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won't ever talk about any of them again.

He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online. Investigators conclude it's no accident. All of them are suspects.

Everyone has secrets, right?

What really matters is how far you'll go to protect them.

©2018 Karen McManus (P)2018 Penguin Books Ltd

What listeners say about One of Us Is Lying

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    377
  • 4 Stars
    195
  • 3 Stars
    87
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    371
  • 4 Stars
    138
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    321
  • 4 Stars
    146
  • 3 Stars
    80
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Similar to Pretty little liars

The story was good, unexpected and very much kept you intrigued. The plot twist and the unraveling story at the end was a surprise. Overall the book was good, if you like pretty little liars it’s fairly similar on a smaller scale. However, my only problem with the book is that mostly the reading voices are okay and makes the characters seem like real people; but some of the narration throughout the book sounds robotic, and made it less imaginable.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Okay story, saved by the performance

The story was only okay. Unfortunately the twist did not shock me at all as I had guessed it from the start. The characters were very realistic even if they were very much just typical character tropes, and I'm a sucker for a love story. The performance, however, was incredible, with the narrator for Bromwyn being the stand out. If you don't mind the story being a little weak (But still enjoyable) the narration will save it for you. A missable but enjoyable experience.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

Gripping story. An internally consistent, plausible story. Believable 3D characters. An exploration of how difficult experiences can act like a catalyst for positive change.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good!

I really liked this book. I listen to a lot of adult “whodunnits” so it was fresh that is was set in a high school. The narrators were great and I really liked the four main characters as you get to know them. For me, it loses a star purely because I reserve my 5 star ratings for the “corkers” that I read. I rarely guess the endings of these books, but I kind of had an idea of what was going on from the first few chapters, albeit I didn’t guess the ins and outs of it and it was still really exciting to hear it all play out. Because of that I wouldn’t say it had the shock factor, but i still really recommend listening to it, as it’s not disappointing!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Box set binge worthy

a 21st century version of the breakfast club, with a who done it twist. Once you pop, you just can't stop. Really gripping and entertaining ride.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great narration of a decent mystery

Really enjoyed listening to this. I especially loved the different actors and the voices. Now watching the tv series and keep saying, 'This was better in the book'.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great narration

Story was a little predictable but overall enjoyable and entertaining. I would recommend this audio book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

it's a pretty little liar vibe

I loved the first couple if seasons of pll. this brings me back! it was intriguing to read. the conclusion was not out in the open but you could guess it. the ensemble cast was good but some characters got to shine more then others. nate was kinda just there. but we stan stan!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fabulous from start to finish

What an excellent ride of suspense and feels. First and foremost: this was an awesome audiobook. All four narrators did a brilliant job of consistently capturing the tone of the characters.

I love that I immediately wanted to protect all four of the kids involved. I didn't want any of them to be guilty and I adored their personal lives. It really knew how to spin you for a loop. The plot is delightfully well seeded, so by the time the revelations hit, it's an excellent punch from a few angles. I enjoyed the disgust and outrage I felt on various people's behalf.

For a story that is centred around a murder case, the romances are CUTE AS HECK and honestly the main kids are so dynamic.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable fluff if not for painful narration

This is a silly little book, and I guessed the twist within seconds, but it would have been enjoyable nonetheless for the overall characterisation and story, if not for the painful performance of both female narrators. The males were OK, but both of the females were stilted and robotic, and the one playing Bronwyn garbled the simplest words like she had an egg in her mouth. I almost thought it was the same female actor playing both, and she'd tried to give Bronwyn some kind of speech impediment to differentiate them. It grated on me more as the book progressed and although I did finish it (testament to the writing and story), I was quite relieved when it was over.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nest
  • Nest
  • 21-10-19

Narration is horrible

The narration is literal garbage and there's ONE voice actor for all the young TEEN characters that are supposed to be portrayed in this story. Utterly garbage.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daniel Prinsloo
  • Daniel Prinsloo
  • 02-06-19

Good conclusion. Perfection needed more details

The story does have a satisfying conclusion. I just wanted a bit more blanks to be filled in. some more details of the smaller details of the mystery and how it was executed not just the what.