Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Meet DCI Hanlon. A woman with a habit of breaking the rules and a fierce loyalty to the few people she respects.

When the kidnap of a 12-year-old boy blows the case of some missing children wide apart, the finger is pointing at the heart of the Met.

Hanlon is sent in as the only cop who is incorruptible enough to handle it. But can she find the killer before another child is stolen?

Once you start the DCI Hanlon series, you won't be able to stop. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan and Mark Dawson.

This book was previously published as Time to Die by Alex Howard.

©2021 Alex Coombs (P)2022 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about The Stolen Child

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    21
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Would listen to full story with different narrator

I gave up and asked for a refund as the narration was so bad, which was a shame as the story was interesting and intriguing- I wanted to know more. Started off as a mild irritation as she pronounced “arthritis” as if it was a man’s full name (Arthur Ritus) but as I got an hour in it just became a distraction to the story line and I gave up. Made me appreciate the many, many good narrators I’ve had the privilege of listening to within audible.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Woeful narration

Like an A level student monotonously stumbling over unfamiliar words (yes I was a teacher) Crammed with mispronunciation, lacking in any drama or feeling. Hard to tell if the narrative is as cliché ridden as the narrator makes it sound. Absurdly implausible story. I listened to the Hanlon PI Scottish series first, brilliantly narrated, less implausible, great sense of place, so began these earlier novels. Wish I hadn’t wasted a credit.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story, sub-par performance

I came to this after listening to two of the Hanlon P.I. series, which I had enjoyed. So, for me, this is more like back-story.

Hanlon is a variation on the tough/violent female characters that are now quite common in print and on screen (e.g. Femme Nikita, Beatrix Rose, Villanelle). Locating her in the police is a twist. The story has twists and turns that kept me listening, although some plot points did not seem quite right.

The performance is not so good. Ms. Bouckley pronounces some words very strangely, almost phonetically, as if unfamiliar with the English language. It was so odd that I started a list; I gave up when it passed 10.

Strangest of all was the inconsistent pronunciation of Hanlon, sometimes Han-lun (as a Brit would) and other times Han-lon (as a Martian might), even within the same chapter, Something similar happens with another character's name. Was there no-one else present at the recording? No quality control? Very odd.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Atrocious narration, read the books where Hanlon is still in London.

Only half an hour in and already many mispronounced words: vehicular, posthumous and excised read as exercised! No distinction between characters so a hard listen. Doesn’t seem to know about reading ahead so several sudden stops mid sentence.

Such a shame as this series is well worth hearing and the stories set in Scotland are superbly read by Carolyn Bonnyman.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but shockingly poor narration

I like the Hanlon series and was looking forward to this one. The story didn’t disappoint but the stilted poorly punctuated often mispronounced narration was hard to endure. Every sentence seems to be forced to be the same length regardless of how it should flow. I will avoid this narrator in future. I am mystified that this got beyond quality control …

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story, bad narration

Nice voice, but some of her pronunciations and the way she repeatedly added commas and full stops where there weren't any ended up driving me nuts. But the story was great.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Oxford educated posh boy

Stopped listening when his racist, right wing description of the Tottengham riots appalled me. Disgusting.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I’m sure the narrator was having us all on…

I gave it several hours because the book itself is so good. But eventually I decided that I was going to return it because of the narrator. My husband, however, wouldn’t let me - he said he’d miss my daily bemused recounting of some quite bizarre pronunciations. Who is Anna Thema? How does one character look at another laviciously? Was that bravery award really going to be post humorous? And the freestyle punctuation led to several rewinds for clarity. Astonishing example of vocal butchery, but very funny in the end. Not the book - that’s excellent, as always.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Was a struggle due to the narrator.

Story spoiled by the narrator who is quite slow, monotone and also mispronounces words. I increased the playback speed which helped slightly.
I would listen to another book in this series if there is a different narrator. I also thought the ending of the book was a bit abrupt.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Performance sounded like it was machine generated

Overall the story was good but let down a bit by the pronunciation of some words which sounded like they we computer/machine generated. Felt like a perfectly good narrator had been used to train a model which was then used to read the book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael M. Rijssenbeek
  • Michael M. Rijssenbeek
  • 25-07-22

Excellent story, poor reading

The story was satisfyingly complex. I don't know whether the choice to read it in a rapid monotone was the decision by the reader or director/producer, but it really detracted from the writing. Too many times the emphasis was on the wrong syllable or word. It was very distracting.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-04-22

Horror upon horror!

Why write this distasteful tale which obviously delights in extended descriptions of human depravity, brutality and horror? The author needs to see a shrink! What a waste of time!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andy668
  • Andy668
  • 03-04-22

A very good introduction to a great cast of characters

I purchased this on audible and absolutely enjoyed it from beginning to end. My only negative, and it’s really not much of one, is with the narrator. Her voice is lovely and she speaks and reads very clearly, the only downside she has is that her performance is rather wooden. She reads dialogue in a way that people don’t normally talk to each other.