Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £26.39

Buy Now for £26.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Winter blankets the land, and more than just hope has died. Prevented from invading the Fhrey homeland by the tower of Avempartha, the western army seeks a way across the Nidwalden River before the fane obtains the secret of dragons. As time runs out for both humanity and the mystic Suri, the only chance for the living rests with the dead. Having made their fateful choice, can a handful of misfits do the impossible, or are they forever lost to an inescapable grave? Do gods truly exist? Is it possible to know the future? And what lies beyond the veil of death?  

In the tradition of Virgil's Aeneid, Dante's Divine Comedy, and Milton's Paradise Lost, the most epic of tales transcend the world of the living. It's time to see what lies in Elan's Age of Death.  

From Michael J. Sullivan (New York Times, USA Today, and Washington Post best-selling author) comes the second to the last installment in the epic fantasy series Legends of the First Empire. The series chronicles a pivotal point in Elan's history when humans rise against the Fhrey who they once saw as gods. 

Set 3,000 years before the Riyria tales, Legends is a stand-alone fantasy series that is independent of all other Elan stories. That said, if you do listen to the other books, you'll see lies revealed and the truth about historical figures unmasked.  

Performed by Terence Aselford; Yasmin Tuazon; Nora Achrati; Tia Shearer; Bradley Smith; Tracy Olivera; Todd Scofield; Kimberly Gilbert; Colleen Delany; Amanda Forstrom; Nanette Savard; Zeke Alton; Matthew Schleigh; Evan Casey; Marni Penning; Joe Mallon; Eric Messner; Chris Stinson; Michael John Casey; Jessica Lauren Ball; Audrey Berteaux; Carolyn Kashner; Christopher Walker; Matthew Bassett; Nick DePinto; David Harris; Scott McCormick; Lilly Beacon; Rose Elizabeth Supan; Mort Shelby; Karen Novack; Richard Rohan; Robbie Gay.

©2020 Riyria Enterprises, LLC (P)2022 Graphic Audio LLC

What listeners say about Age of Death (Dramatized Adaptation)

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael
  • Michael
  • 14-07-22

good but one scene makes it horrible.

when techin gets tortured by Farrell, they play this annoying sound in the background for way too long. like I mean horrible. and you want to hear what's being said so you have to have the volume up a little bit and be tortured with techin

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dee $
  • Dee $
  • 07-07-22

Terrible just terrible

Got the dramatized adaptation what a god awful thing to try listen to bad

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LeeAnn Sudduth
  • LeeAnn Sudduth
  • 01-06-22

Love this series

I absolutely love this series. I have only 1 thing that I would like to see not done in future Graphic Audio Productions and that is the sounds in the background of the narration. I'm not talking about the people working sounds or the crowd sounds. I mean the sounds that are not part of the story. For example when Beatrice was telling the story to the group towards the end of part 2 of this book, there is this ear piercing noise in the background and it caused me to miss part of the book bc I had to skip that part. Other than that I loved it!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dawggy
  • Dawggy
  • 08-04-22

changing actors?

Two characters have randomly changed voice actors. Wtf? Also this author is heavily feminized. most of the men are portrayed as mostly useless violent idiots while the women tend to be incredibly versatile geniuses. Still mostly enjoyable