Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £27.49

Buy Now for £27.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Mercenary Kate Daniels must risk all to protect everything she holds dear in this epic, can't-miss entry in the thrilling #1 New York Times bestselling urban fantasy series.

Kate has come a long way from her origins as a loner taking care of paranormal problems in post-Shift Atlanta. She's made friends and enemies. She's found love and started a family with Curran Lennart, the former Beast Lord. But her magic is too strong for the power players of the world to let her be.

Kate and her father, Roland, currently have an uneasy truce, but when he starts testing her defenses again, she knows that sooner or later, a confrontation is inevitable. The Witch Oracle has begun seeing visions of blood, fire, and human bones. And when a mysterious box is delivered to Kate's doorstep, a threat of war from the ancient enemy who nearly destroyed her family, she knows their time is up.

Kate Daniels sees no other choice but to combine forces with the unlikeliest of allies. She knows betrayal is inevitable. She knows she may not survive the coming battle. But she has to try.

For her child.

For Atlanta.

For the world.

©2018 Andrew Gordon and Ilona Gordon (P)2018 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. Recorded by arrangement with The Berkeley Publishing Group, a member of Penguin

What listeners say about Magic Triumphs

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rollercoaster ride throughout

I have followed Kate's story from book one and have loved it. This book rounds them off quite well, with room for other characters stories to follow, which I am looking forward to reading. I believe readers who enjoy Jim Butcher and Patricia Briggs novels will also enjoy this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

magical ending

an amazing ending to the kate daniels series. i was not disappointed but also never wanted the book to end🥲🥲🥲

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant ending to a phenomenal series

This book is the culmination of a fabulous series. The book itself is an excellent read, the narration takes it to the next level.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sho Sunaga
  • Sho Sunaga
  • 28-08-18

I can’t believe it’s over

Wow what an amazing ride it has been. This book gave a wonderful and satisfying end to Kate’s adventure. The book started with a bang and after that it never stopped until the very last epic battle for Kate and Curran. I really don’t want to believe this is going to be the last book. Well Kate’s adventures might have come to an end for now but for others, their stories have just begun. I cannot wait to read more stories from this world. I just love them. Until then I think I will reread the series from the beginning and wait!!

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for IreneMBBT
  • IreneMBBT
  • 28-08-18

Everything we hoped for...

Wow! We got everything we could have hoped for in the “finish” for the Kate/Curran series arc, and a great story in itself. I will not provide any details because I want everyone else to be able to experience it themselves.
Raudman is excellent and one of my fave narrators, period.
Recommend! Enjoy!
Thank you, Ilona Andrews! Both of you!

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heather Marie
  • Heather Marie
  • 31-08-18

The best, just absolutely the best yet.

Wrapped up everything in such a way it could be the end. I do hope the next chapter will come but am so content with how well the author left nothing undone. Simply brilliant. Never before has a story truly left the listener with no questions unanswered.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Douglas
  • Douglas
  • 30-08-18

Absolutely Brilliant-both content & performance!

Exciting and thoughtful plot twists. The series wrapped as seemlessly and skillfully as I've ever seen. And yet, I see the possibility of a new and intriguing series logically forming from the epilog.

Between Kate Daniels and Nevada Baylor, no one crafts more complete, powerful, vulnerable, flawed and interesting characters and stories than does Ilona Andrews.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 29-08-18

Wonderful end to this story arc.

I totally loved this book, and of course the entire series since the beginning. The action is vivid, the story absorbing, and Renee does an amazing job in the telling of it. I'd do a full review of this book, but you can't start here and expect to get a real feel of this series. Start with book one, Magic Bites, and read/listen to the books in order, and you'll be taken on a wild ride you'll never forget!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LaPhoenix334
  • LaPhoenix334
  • 14-12-19

The Bomb **Warning Spoiler Alert**

Yo, this book is definitely the best Series closing installment I’ve ever read. That’s what the majority of the other reviews say already (I know. I read many of them). So I decided my review would offer up more details on why it’s so well done.

It’s written in such a way that it seamlessly connects all the dots from previous novels. We learn why Curran ate the divine animal when he went to save Saimon. We learn more about his and Kate’s baby. We learn more about the enemy from the first book in the Iron and Magic series. We get more insight into Hugh and Christopher’s characters. Yes, Christopher and Barrabus finally go public. Kate and Roland’s complicated relationship gets decent closure. Gosh it’s just so much I could say. However, those are enough nuggets for you to get an idea. It really is well done. This world the authors have built is so rich they could literally write three or four more spin-off series from it. And their fans like me would buy them all!

But I think besides Iron and Magic (which I love and please keep that same narrator Steve West because he did AMAZING and I prefer his version of Hugh) the next sister ship series should be about Julie. Then once she gets to a certain age perhaps we can read more about Conlan ...

Again, there are so many things one can say about this book. Bottom line, just get it. If you’ve read the previous ones in the series you just have to... if you haven’t read the previous books then you should.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for April Reads and Listens
  • April Reads and Listens
  • 16-11-19

Epic Ending to An Epic Series

I've loved and enjoyed Kate and Curran's adventure. My how much they've grown together as a couple and as an individual. Stronger together too and are ridiculously awesome as parents.

I can't believe this is the last book of their story. I believe we'll see and hear more of them and about them if Julie gets her spin off series.

This book though wrapped up everything in a way that didn't feel rushed. I will miss Kate and Curran.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 23-09-18

A Triumph of a read

I loved it. I savored this read. I enjoyed it completely! I can not wait to see what comes...
This series will be on repeat more then a few times in the next few months, I can't get enough.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 31-08-18

EPIC!!!

Such a great ending to a great series!!! This has been one of my favorite stories and Kate is my favorite heroine!!! So glad she gets her happy every after

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ERICK
  • ERICK
  • 24-12-18

Great finish to a series

Kate Daniels may end up going on, but for this segment of the story, it's over. And I thought it finished very strong. The story was extremely engaging, the characters all multi-dimensional. Just a great book and great way to end a series.

1 person found this helpful