Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.99

Buy Now for £22.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Every operative knows the rules.

The mission comes first. You are a deniable asset. Betrayal is punished by death.

Alex Reeve was Operative 66. A former special-ops soldier and one of the UK's deadliest weapons, he was a member of the secretive SC9 - an elite security service with a remit to neutralise the country's most dangerous enemies.

Falsely accused of treason, Reeve was forced to hide in the shadows as the brutal assassins he once trained alongside sought to eliminate the 'rogue asset' at any cost. But tricked into revealing himself, Reeve is suddenly dragged into a lethal conspiracy involving the British state, shadowy Russian agents...and his own father.  

If there's one man who can survive...it is Operative 66.

From the internationally best-selling author of the Wilde and Chase series comes an explosive new thriller - the perfect pulse-racing listen for fans of Lee Child, Vince Flynn and Gregg Hurwitz.

©2021 Andy McDermott (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What listeners say about Rogue Asset

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    164
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    146
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Action packed is an understatement t

This reads like ( or sounds like - if you are listening to the audiobook) a Bourne movie on speed. If you like non-stop action of the ' disavowed black-ops-guy-evades-threats-from-multiple agencies- while-keeping -loved -one and self from-being-terminated-and at the same time exacting-revenge-on-brutal-father' variety....then this is definitely for you. The pace never let's up.
The overwhelming preponderance of action is the reason I have only awarded 4 stars. After a while it becomes unremarkable and requires much suspension of disbelief. That said I will definitely be reading the sequel as soon as it comes out!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stretches it too much

Great storyline about I guess all countries are run by shadow government agencies… makes sense .. downside of the book is …the author kind of filled pages I guess for the publisher by stretching the LOOOOONG car chase

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good listen

Action packed really enjoyed the second book , only criticism is that Alex one numerous occasions has the opportunity to end a threat but not doing so creates more action that can be a bit long winded and I found my a bit tired of some fight scenes

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!!

This is the second book in this series which I have listened to and once again a great thrilling book.
Well narrated and fast moving, it was difficult to stop listening, “a real page turner”..
Next one please.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Became boring

This book started really well, but the last 10 chapters were taken up with one long car chase or foot chase. It became single focuses and boring really quickly - shame though

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good

this book was good the story line very good i will read it again...so

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

recommended

story was interesting
liked the plot
would listen to another book from this collection

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Story

Fast moving, amusing, intense, just a few adjectives that fit this book. I was not mad about the narrator but he tried his best, with many accents. The story is a fast moving tale of death, intrigue and a little romance coupled with a fanciful idea that stretches reality. Nevertheless I could not stop listening to it and finished it in 30 hours, much to the irritation of my husband.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CT
  • 28-12-21

Really Good

Enjoyed it as much as the first one.
looking forward to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fast paced action

Another thrilling adventure by Andy McDermott. Lots of detail and amazing action packed twists and turns. Hopefully there will be a third book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacques Hollands
  • Jacques Hollands
  • 28-09-21

Bourne vs Bruce Lee

Andy McDermott once again surprised me with this thriller. It is a far cry from his Wilde-Chase adventures, which were fun in itself. The Alex Reeve series is edgier, darker and mostly realistic, with some exclusions discussed below. Some have complained that this series is too closely related to the Bourne novels, and while I can see that, I feel the story is sufficiently different.

So why do I only give it four stars? In fact, I wanted to give it 3.5 stars but decided to round it up as the storyline is excellent. It is let down by two gripes I have, and both occur in the book's latter stages. Firstly I am surprised that Andy McDermott hasn't been sued for copyright infringement. The scenes in Venice made me feel I was reading the script of Casino Royale with Daniel Craig and Eva Green. Even the city was the same.

Only he went further, which leads to my second gripe. He succumbed to the over-the-top action that his Wilde-Chase novels were known for. The car chase scene was unrelenting and simply too unrealistic. It went on and on and on. You get the point. In fact, this scene was the epitome of Reeves going from one situation to another throughout the book virtually untouched. Really? How many lives or luck does this man have? I am tempted to list how many times the character barely escaped from a dangerous situation, but fear this could take quite some time.

While other readers may disagree with me and approve of the unrelenting close calls, I find it detracts from a thoroughly engaging story. This book is best compared to a good Bond movie let down by terrible CGI (e.g. Die Another Day with Pierce Brosnan). Yes, it should contain some action, but I expect a Bourne storyline to have Bourne action - not a Bourne novel with "Bruce Lee fighting a 100 men before breakfast" action. These two aspects felt incongruent.

Gripes aside, will I recommend the book? Yes, of course. Not everyone will agree with my assessment, and many people will rate the book five stars. It is a fantastic story, and I can't wait to see where Andy McDermott will take it next. I just hope he tapers down on the unrealistic action a bit.

A final comment to consider: the narrator, Simon Mattacks, was excellent. The audiobook is therefore highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard S. Swol
  • Richard S. Swol
  • 30-07-21

Alex Reeve against the top assassin's in the UK

Chapter two in the Alex Reeve saga. After laying low in Italy for months, Alex and Connie are discovered through a subterfuge by SC9. Then the battle begins again. Throw in Alex's not so beloved father. There is action and daring do aplenty throughout the fast paced novel.

While I personally prefer the storyline of the author's other series, (Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase), I can find absolutely nothing bad to say about this series. It delivers on all counts. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good thriller.

I could see this becoming a popular film franchise in the vein of the Bourne films. Do yourself a favor and get in on the ground floor and get these books first.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JenFox
  • JenFox
  • 20-06-22

Seriously Superb Series

2nd in the series & brilliant. Fast paced, high octane, adrenaline laced action. If you are a Jason Bourne fan then this is for you. Superb story, superb characters with heart & soul. Brilliant!!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 28-12-21

Way too much violence and not enough true story

Unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed with this book, it was simply violent scene after a violent scene after violent scene. And that was the whole plot, it really had nothing of any value nor a significant storyline. Please don’t waste your time and money on this one.