Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From the number-one best-selling author. 

Former SAS operative Ben Hope is running for his life. Enlisted by the beautiful Leigh Llewellyn - world-famous opera star and Ben's first love - to investigate her brother's mysterious death, Ben finds himself caught up in a centuries-old puzzle. The official line states that Oliver died whilst investigating Mozart's death, but the facts don't add up. 

Oliver's research reveals that Mozart, a notable freemason, may have been killed by a shadowy and powerful splinter group of the cult. The only clues lie in an ancient letter, believed to have been written by Mozart himself. 

When Leigh and Ben receive video evidence of a ritual sacrifice being performed by hooded men, they realise the sect is still in existence today...and will stop at nothing to remain a secret. 

From the dreaming spires of Oxford to Venice's labyrinthine canals, the majestic architecture of Vienna, and Slovenia's snowy mountains, Ben and Leigh must forget the past and race across Europe to uncover the truth behind The Mozart Conspiracy.... An electrifying and utterly gripping must-listen for fans of Dan Brown, Sam Bourne and Ludlum's Bourne series.

©2009 Scott Mariani (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"James Bond meets Jason Bourne meets The Da Vinci Code." (J. L. Carrell, best-selling author of The Shakespeare Secret

"Deadly conspiracies, bone-crunching action and a tormented hero with a heart.... Scott Mariani packs a real punch." (Andy McDermott, best-selling author of The Secret Vault)   

"Full of authentic detail and heart-stopping action - a real thrill ride." (Ed Macy, author of the best-selling Apache)  

What listeners say about The Mozart Conspiracy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    245
  • 4 Stars
    116
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    244
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    228
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb action thriller...!

A superbly exciting thriller from Scott Mariani. Ben Hope is back in action, this time he's on a mission to help an old flame investigate the death of her brother - who had been on the trail of a secret group involved in the death of Mozart. I found this story very compelling, and took any opportunity to listen! If you enjoy the 'edge of the seat' excitement of the likes of Mark Dawson - you'll absolutely love this. Very much in the style of the John Milton series. Very pleased to have come across this series, and can't wait to get stuck in to the remaining books! Very well narrated by Colin Mace.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Ben Hope is Superman!

Scott Mariani has really tried to make this book even more exciting than his first Ben Hope story, and it is packed with action. It has our hero, Ben Hope, struggling for his life, overcoming impossible odds with good luck and ingenuity, but getting his goal in the end.

The story relates to a theory that Mozart was killed by members of a secret society, the Order of Ra. The discovery of a letter he wrote to a friend shortly before his death, in which he expressed his fears that they would kill him for revealing details of their craft in The Magic Flute, has ignited action by Ra who want the letter destroyed. The letter had remained hidden for two centuries until it turned up during the restoration of an old piano, and a musician researching the story was murdered to prevent him making the letter public.

The death of the musician, Oliver Llewellyn, had been made to look like suicide. However, the musician's sister, Leigh Llewellyn, publicised her intention to continue with Oliver's research and this triggered a violent response from the secret society, which apparently still existed. Leigh asked Ben to help her find the manuscript, even though it meant revisiting a relationship which Ben had suddenly terminated when Leigh was nineteen, and together they fought the Order of Ra and found the manuscript.

The book has a well-constructed plot with lots of twists and some horrific detail, and the author brings in snippets of information about Mozart and about places in Europe. Everywhere that Ben goes, Ra is there with a violent response, and the collateral damage is a bit upsetting sometimes. Ben himself appears to be sheathed in Kevlar and will fight again.

Colin Mace made his narration somewhat staccato by always pausing after saying someone's name, but otherwise it was competent and characters were given distinctive and appropriate voices.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not for me

didn't finish predictably boring change the plot find love killed i kill more set-off ok

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

What more can I say? intriguing plot , good characters,lots of action and 'heart in the mouth ' moments.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic

brilliant second book. The first book in the series was good but this one was fantastic

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

The performance of Colin Mace reading the tense Ben Hope storyline is truly gripping.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

expected better story

gripping at tmes, but some situations were to me questionably implausible, too coincidental or predictable.

narrator excellent.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Really enjoyed the story and the narrative. Ben Hope stories are well tailored and exciting

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

let's do the twist

just when you think it's safe another twist and you are off on another direction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂

fantastic story again from Scott will keep.reading as long as he keeps writing .