Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Night Raven is the first book in Crow Investigations, an exciting new paranormal mystery series from best-selling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter. 

Lydia has always known she has no power, especially next to her infamous and more-than-slightly dodgy family. Which is why she carved her own life as a private investigator far away from London. When a professional snafu forces her home, the head of the family calls in a favour, and Lydia finds herself investigating the disappearance of her cousin, Maddie. 

Soon, Lydia is neck-deep in problems: her new flatmate is a homicidal ghost, the intriguing, but forbidden, DCI Fleet is acting in a distinctly unprofessional manner, and tensions between the old magical families are rising. For 75 years, a truce between the four families has held strong, but could the disappearance of Maddie Crow be the thing to break it?

©2019 Sarah Painter (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

“My favourite new urban fantasy series, clever and twisty and deliciously magical, with a shivery sense of wonder that feels utterly grounded in its London setting. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Genevieve Cogman or Robert Galbraith!” (Stephanie Burgis, author of Masks and Shadows)

What listeners say about The Night Raven

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    222
  • 4 Stars
    160
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    246
  • 4 Stars
    125
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    192
  • 4 Stars
    147
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable listen

Really enjoyed this book, so much so that I have just bought the next 2 in the series.
I get where others are coming from with comments on the dialogue being young but the main character is early 20s so I think it fits perfectly with her character.
There is a time and a place for overly wordy texts and these simple but enjoyable adventure books is not the place. I think the author has it right and it adds to the enjoyment of listening to the story.
Listen to this book if you enjoy walking away from the rigors of real life, love the idea of going on adventures with characters you will come to care about and enjoy.

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A little 💎

I'm writing this review whilst downloading book 2. As a die hard fan of crime fiction, physiological thrillers and the odd bit of historical fiction thrown in, it is a rare occurrence for me to browse other genre's. Every once in a while my mind gets bogged down with all the usual stuff involved in my favourite kind of story and I need a break from the norm. This little gem is just the job.

I'm a woman of a certain age who was hooked on watching Charned and similar magical TV series when I was younger and I am a huge Potter fan. I sometimes crave a little bit of magic to lighten the load and love when I take a chance on a new author and series and it really delivers.

I'm hooked. The story line and characters are captivating and I found myself immersed in them from the start. Its not magical spells at the ready with wands waving and beasts battling. The magical element is much more subtle (at least so far) which lends to believability. No spoilers from me!

I'm moving swiftly on to book 2, I can't wait to see how things develop and watch the characters grow.

A round of applause to the narrator who just brings it all together and adds a little bit of glow.

A very strong first book in what I an sure us going to be a great series xx

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Interesting story

Loved it, good story. The narration was soothing.,this was my first audible and it has me hooked

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Promising

A quirky and interesting listen, well read. Put me in mind of an urban Oxford Tea Room mystery only urbann with a dash of magic 😊

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A promising start

I wasn’t blown away by this, the mystery element to it wasn’t all that gripping. However I’ve given it a good rating because the characterisation and world building makes for an interesting premise and I think following books (with more dramatic or intricate mysteries) will be great.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great read

Good story, well read. Engaging and entertaining. Can't wait for the next one in the series

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

No intrigue for me

Really struggled to finish this, no where near as intriguing as the premise suggests unfortunately. Felt like a set up for another story where something interesting might actually happen?

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A nice and easy listen

Entertaining story and decent narration, but it’d be nice if the author could stop incessantly reminding the listener of who the main character and her family is.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great start

This is a great start to a new series. Interesting premise and I look forward to seeing where the main character goes next.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable listen

This is the first book I have read by the author. I took a chance and was chuffed with my choice. A slightly different take on the paranormal with The Crow family featuring promently with Lydia Crow as the main character. After returning to London and agreeing to do Uncle Charlie a favour. She embarks on a series of events ending up with a Café below her and a new business of an Investigation Agency.
Thoroughly enjoyed this new author and am of to read the next in the series.

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ijw
  • Ijw
  • 21-10-19

Ask yourself

Our heroine talks a tough game but doesn't stand up for herself. Why doesn't she tell her uncle that she must have a secure door with a security system and surveillance right off the bat ? Because it would eliminate half the book.

So consider if you want to spend hours with dysfunctional family, dysfunctional exes and dysfunctional enemies? If you think that's fun read on.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Greg
  • Greg
  • 05-03-20

Great start, uh finish

So the start of this book felt very cool. The narrator did a great job, adding depth to the story. The beginning had grit. The beginning felt like it could anywhere. The beginning was about the old good part of this book.

In hindsight, I think the whole book was a lead in to the tryst with the copper...because it just ends shortly after. With all the setup and background I was expecting some cool revelation....and all I got was eh.

Is it worth a credit...well the beginning is, the ending isn't.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Barker
  • M. Barker
  • 24-10-19

A good and entertaining time

Good fun. The characterizations are accurate.
Entertaining plot. Made me curious where the author would take it in future volumes.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NoOneSpecial
  • NoOneSpecial
  • 03-09-21

Unique concepts just needs more magic

Not what I expected but it’s very interesting. I was in the mood for more magic but that’s me. The characters were interesting and the mystery was mentally engaging. The narrator was perfect!