Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A nerve-shredding suspense thriller from best-selling author Nick Louth. Trapped is perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, JP Delaney and Rachel Abbott.

In Manchester, two hardened gang members on the run take Catherine Blake and her one-year-old son hostage at gunpoint. She is in the wrong place at the wrong time. 

Held in a Transit van, Catherine needs a plan fast. But it means diving into her captors’ risk-drenched world, and playing them at their own game. 

Catherine has been through cancer, miscarriages and five draining years of IVF in order to have her son Ethan. He is the most precious thing in the world. She may be terrified out of her wits, but she’d do anything to protect him. Anything, no matter the cost....

Brace yourself.

©2019 Nick Louth (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about Trapped

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story, awful natation!!

It just goes to show that no matter how good a book it is, when it read by a monotone voice with no empathy for the storyline whatsoever, the book is ruined!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awful narrator

Really good story totally spoilt by the annoying narrator. Cant think of another time when i have felt like giving up because his voice irritated me so much. Real shame would avoid anything narrated by him in the future

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Irritating narrator voice !!

Couldn’t get pass the first chapter as Nick Louth is using a different narrator with the most irritating voice. Waste of money!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

God awful narration

Oh my word who on earth choose this narrator in all my years on audible I have never heard such an awful voice. It droned on and On monosyllabic with no expression throughout. It was such a shame because I love Nick Louth books with DI gillard and they have a great narrator. I only persevered because people said it had a good story line. So please god NEVER use this narrator again

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

Narrative boring

Started to listen but narrator put me off, disappointing as I normally enjoy this author,

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

BORING READER

Being a fan of this author I opened this book with high anticipation. Unfortunately, having only read a couple of chapters (probably not enough to comment properly) I had to stop reading because the narrator was so toneless and boring. Perhaps he was trying to be sincester as the plot may warrant but he nearly drove me to sleep or dink, take your pick! If I had read this book by this author first, I would not have touched any of his books with a barge pole but, thankfully, having read other titles narrated by a far more expressive and interesting narrator, I will give Nick another chance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story plot, poor narration

In the first few minutes I nearly gave up due to dreadful whiney narration, I even thought there was an error on the narration speed, but stick with it because plot is quite good fast paced action with twists and turns. However I won't be listening to anymore from this narrator

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story but some glaring errors

Things that should have been easy to look up weren't, like Royal Marsden the Cancer hospital somehow becoming a neuro specialist centre.

That said, the story was exceptional and gripping from start to finish.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narration spoils a great story

Bought this book as I’d really enjoyed Nick Louth’s crime series. For once I didn’t try a sample first and if I had I wouldn’t have bothered. The narrator’s voice is weird and really difficult to listen to. I persevered and discovered that the story was compelling. What a shame the overall experience was not great and that the narration is so distracting!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good storyline

But dreadful narration. As others have said the male narrator really does spoil the book. It’s the worst narration I’ve ever heard. I was all for giving up and returning it. I’m glad I persisted because it did grate less on the nerves the more I listened. The females northern accents are also dreadful people up north don’t all have the IQ of a slug! I live around Manchester so was interested In the story around the Moss side Maffia

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Claudine D
  • Claudine D
  • 17-11-19

The narrator makes my ears bleed

I usually enjoy books by Nick Louth but this one is just terrible. The narrator is so monotone and speaks at this pace that’s too slow and just irritating. I had to return the book after a couple of chapter because I couldn’t stick with the actual story. I hope audible will record another copy read by someone that doesn’t sound like they are are recovering from a cold.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carol
  • Carol
  • 21-01-21

Very Good

Interesting twist to the way the story is written. Enjoyed enough to listen to it more than once.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D. Williams
  • D. Williams
  • 07-10-20

excellent story but that voice actor - yikes!

The story itself was good, but the male voice actor was awful. When it switches to the female actor, the story becomes much more enjoyable.

1 person found this helpful