Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Introducing the three unlikeliest sleuths you'll ever meet....  

Every Thursday, three retired school teachers have their ‘coffee o’clock’ sessions at the Thirsk Garden Centre café.

But one fateful week, as they are catching up with a slice of cake, they bump into their ex-colleague, Topsy.

By the next Thursday, Topsy’s dead.

The last thing Liz, Thelma and Pat imagined was that they would become involved in a murder.

But they know there’s more to Topsy’s death than meets the eye - and it’s down to them to prove it....

Sit down with a cup of tea and this perfectly witty cosy crime novel. Fans of Agatha Christie, Death in Paradise and Midsomer Murders will be hooked from the very start.

©2022 J.M. Hall (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Warm characters and wonderful writing.... It’s steeped in Yorkshire like a mug of hot, strong tea.... I loved it." (SJ Bennett, author of The Windsor Knot)

"An absorbing read about everyday life falling foul of murder." (Faith Martin)

What listeners say about A Spoonful of Murder

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    155
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    168
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    129
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Will Not Disapoint ! ! !

I'd been going through a losing streak lately with a number of book I'd purchased not meeting the mark one so awful I had to return it. So, I was hesitant about this purchase but I'm so glad that I did, it way exceeded my expectations.

I was hooked right from the start at the down to earth lives of the heroines . It was so relateable to my own Not a Lord, Major ,or lady, in sight.

The plot had plenty of twists and turns that had me guessing and reguessing all the way through, And I couldn't end without heaping praise on the narration. Fine words are all very well but without good narration they would fall flat. Julie Hesmondhalgh did an amazing job and I really hope she narrates the second book. Also loved her Q&A with J.M. Hall,

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible.

I could not finish this book. Long, boring story. It is very much in the style of Richard Osmond. Wonderful narrator though.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

six chapters in and

nothing has happened. Retired teacher with Alzheimer's disease gets conned out of savings. This could have easily been explained within one chapter...

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous listen!

This book is a must for anyone who has fond memories of primary school teaching back in the day , loves the area around Ripon and likes a good murder. It’s very tongue in cheek. Some great characters who will hopefully be back for a second book.Especially pleasing to hear the words pronounced in English English by the narrator. Don’t miss out on the interview between Julie Hesmondhalgh and the author which provided some interesting background information about J.M.Hall. From The Full Monty to the phone scammers it all rang true with me.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great whodunnit!

I really enjoyed this book. The characters are believable, the story has plenty of twists to keep me guessing.
Narration is superb!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Anon

I found this book hard work. There are so many threads running from the main story and so much fine detailed information that it was hard to keep up. The main theme of the book was good. The narration was excellent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderfully thought provoking novel ....

.... with brilliant characters and a plot that keeps you on the edge of your seat. The subject was covered beautifully and really brings the vulnerability of the mind to light - very much hope there's another. The writing and reading of the book was a delight. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A real long winded struggle

Far too long, far too many red herrings, far too many similar characters. I lost track and interest. I stuck it out to 3/4s but had to jump to the final chapters just to check who had done it.
After finding out/confirming who I suspected, I didn't care to listen to any more.
I so wanted to like this too

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hmm... Riding the coattail's of another author...

There is no mistake that they decided on a VERY similar style and font to Richard Osmand's hugely successful books. on purpose. I fell for it. I liked the idea of obscure characters solving a mystery... but this one wasn't up to Richards quality at all. Firstly... you literally know who did it from chapter 3... I can't believe anyone listening is left guessing. It is more about how to prove it. I am sure the author is a charming guy and for all I know had this idea way before RO... but... sadly... he was published 2nd and it just doesn't hold up.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Pronunciation

Yet again my enjoyment of an audio book has been spoiled by the mispronunciation of the North Yorkshire town of Masham.
It should be pronounced ‘Massam’ .

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GWYNNETH MUNGER
  • GWYNNETH MUNGER
  • 28-03-22

Excellent

Lovely. Enjoyed this book sooooo much. Thank you so much to J M Hall for making it possible for me to listen to this great story!