Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A shocking disappearance. A village full of secrets.

Ten years ago, a boy named Samuel Murray went missing from the quiet village of Buckthorpe and was never seen again.

Rosie Sharpe cried over her missing friend for weeks after. But her little sister, Heather, knows that Rosie’s tears hide the truth. Because the night Samuel was last seen, Heather watched her older sister climbing back through the window of their childhood bedroom. Her jacket torn, her eyes wild, and her body trembling with fear.

Heather never told anyone what she saw, but secrets can’t stay buried forever....

A decade later, Rosie and Heather return to the home they grew up in when their mother falls ill. But when their house is ransacked and they receive a threatening note, it becomes clear that someone in the close-knit village doesn’t want them there.

When Heather finally confronts her sister about what really happened on the dark, rainy night Samuel vanished, Rosie’s version of the truth is more shocking than she could ever have imagined. But can she trust her sister? And who broke into their house that night? As the lies of the past begin to unravel, they have the power to put the lives of both women in terrible danger....

This twist-filled psychological thriller from the million-copy best-selling author of Silent Child will keep you hooked. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors and The Girl on the Train.

©2019 Sarah A. Denzil (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Liar's Sister

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant....Loved it!

Just when I am losing all hope that a decent audio book is going to be released and I'm thinking of cancelling....along comes this.

This is my type of book and I wish there were more like it! gripped me from the start, relatable characters, easy to follow and listen to! some books are over complicated and I end up not having a clue who is who or what's going on but not with this one. I could picture every scene and character like a movie! had me holding my breath in some parts and a few good twists which I did not guess!

I couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen next!

BRILLIANT!! a BIG well done and Thank you

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It wasn’t awful!

Though it wasn’t for me. I couldn’t bring myself to care about what appeared to be a cast of extremely unlikeable characters. I need a connection in order to enjoy a book but that’s just me.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • AG
  • 02-12-19

Boring

I decided to read another book by Sarah A Denzil because I recently finished the first two Isabel Fielding books and they were absolutely amazing.
Sadly this book was really boring and I kept switching off. Also just about all the characters were annoying. The youngest sister was so pathetic, weak and annoying. When a character has no redeeming quality it’s hard to remain invested in the story. I am very disappointed with this story but I’ll try another book by the same author as she is capable of brilliant writing.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ok but....

Started off really well and captured my attention but sadly it got quite boring and seemed to go nowhere, was pleased to get it finished,

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another convoluted page turner

a brilliant insight into relationships in a small village - all the secrets, which can lead to bigger secrets and crime. enjoyable, compelling and thought-provoking with that special little twist.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Slow start but great end

This book dragged and I almost gave up with it. I wasn’t gripped and got confused between the sisters but it really picked up pace in later chapters. It was really twisty and it’s a shame it didn’t build quicker as the ending was great.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice little read

This was an enjoyable story. Great performance and although I thought I had worked out the twists, I was way off. Worth the credit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

couldn't put it down

loved it, had a twist, Brill audible listen, would recommend to anyone to read or listen

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

good story

bit slow to start but worth it as the story develops murky and deep

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars

exciting

loved it, I couldn't put it down excited to read more more of her stories.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SkW
  • SkW
  • 20-11-19

Excellent

A complete shocker. Was hooked from the beginning. Excellent Read. Recommend the book gave it 5 stars.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michele Clary
  • Michele Clary
  • 30-12-19

Slow start

It was hard for me to get in to this book. The story dragged at first and the speaker seemed to be angry or pushing the performance throughout.

It ended with an interesting twist, but it took a very long time to get there.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ado
  • Ado
  • 08-01-20

CAPTIVATING

This is the book that deserves all the best reviews! I can't think of a single thing that I didn't love about it

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda A. Linsenbigler
  • Linda A. Linsenbigler
  • 19-01-20

So many twists & turns

It starts slowly but builds to an ending I never saw coming. Could not put it down

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kathy Marquard
  • kathy Marquard
  • 19-01-20

really good

I kept thinking I figured it out but it was a surprise. very good twists and good reader.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kb
  • kb
  • 30-12-19

Tedious, not surprising

Story drags in beginning, middle and end. Narrator is fine. Will be returning. That’s all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vanessa thomas
  • Vanessa thomas
  • 27-12-19

How do some books even get published?

Boring, predictable and repetitive. Why should I need to write 15 words to leave a review. That's all I have to say for this trash book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kristy Hurst
  • Kristy Hurst
  • 26-07-22

wow

I thought I knew what was going on in this book. I've read enough Sarah A. Denzil to know better. Twists, turns, and loop de loops in the last quarter of this novel. Wow!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AussiErin
  • AussiErin
  • 26-07-22

Thought it was fantastic

I honestly didn’t think it started as slow as some of the other reviewers stated in the feedback they wrote.. I felt it progressively built, gaining steam in a grasp on the character development without it going overboard. Mind you I did increase the speed, though only slightly to 1:1 and felt like the book was an easy listen and really enjoyed the writing. The narrator was also quite good and the story had some twists that made it worth the credit and listen. Would definitely be interested in more from both author and narrator after listening to this.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Leisha
  • Leisha
  • 01-08-21

Struggled a bit .. quite slow

I was expecting more in this story ie mystery, who done it etc but I found it more about a dysfunctional relationship between 2 sisters. It was an ok story but not riveting for me